I Shutter When I See You: Unlocking a Door

IMG_9833 2  

“May I take a portrait of you?”
“I’ve been trying to unlock this door… but I would love you to.”

In the Mission

This is the first stranger portrait I ever took and I am quite proud of it. I love how open she looks and how her smile lights up her whole face. I am a bit disappointed that I took it when I was running late for a rehearsal because I regret not staying with her, talking, and actually seeing her open that door. Still, the words that I did get to hear from her seem an apt metaphor to me so I am not too fussed. She helped me unlock the door to this project and having her be so happy and willing to have me photograph her was fantastic.

A self-portrait inspired by this stranger is coming soon!

Words and portrait by Miranda Hollingswood

Leave a Reply

