I Shutter When I See You: Opening a Door

IMG_1949 edit  

Inspired by a young woman unlocking a door

With this photo, I wanted to create an image which showed that, for the most part, this project will be an unknown for me.

I do know some things. I know I love photography. I know I am terrified of talking to strangers. I know I chose to take stranger’s portraits because I want to challenge myself. I know I find myself taking sneaky shots from my iPhone far too often. I know I enjoy taking self-portraits because I learn about myself and can perfect the picture I have in my head.

What I am unsure of is how the format of these posts will change. I am unsure what I will put along with my self-portraits. I am unsure what questions I will ask the strangers who I photograph. I am unsure of what I will gain from this endeavor. And I cannot wait to find out!

So I want to ask you readers, as our Wave member Jasmine did, to tell me what you think! Would you enjoy behind-the-portraits description? Would you want more creative writing from me instead of narrative? Would you like to know how I captured this or other photos, and how I edited them? Let me know down in the comments!

Words and portrait by Miranda Hollingswood

Leave a Reply

