Is This Loud Enough? : Good Things Come In Threes – Atlas Genius, Family of the Year, Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr.

The first time I heard Family of the Year was in my friend Kavin’s car. He was like “DON’T THEY SOUND LIKE A MODERN QUEEN?” Well, not so much really, but they were pretty good! So as I was searching the interwebs and pretending to work on my college applications (Mom if you’re reading this, that last one was a joke), I saw on my last.fm calendar that Family of the Year was coming to San Francisco! Being a concert junkie, I just had to get myself a ticket—not to mention the fact that the ticket was only $25, so a good deal plus a cheap asian equals a fun time (YAS!).

Last Genius

I don’t know what the heck happened with my camera here, but the photo turned out pretty cool, so here’s my hipster shot of Atlas Genius.

When I went to purchase my ticket, I found that Family of the Year was just one of three bands that would also be performing. Three bands in one night? A mini music festival with Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr., Family of the Year, AND Atlas Genius? Perfection.

WHAT SHOULD I WEAR?

What I wore:

I picked my outfit based on the name of one of the bands that performed that night. “Atlas Genius”. I stole this shirt from my dad a while back, and thought it would be perfect because it has a printed cityscape and a bunch of planets.

Yu Ling 1

Yu Ling 4

Yu Ling 2

I wanted to go for an eccentric indie look with a futuristic touch since most of the music is like indie-pop. This is why I threw in the metallic collar, and went more hipster with the white shredded shortalls. Then I added a splash of color on my face with my favorite shade of orange lipstick.

Yu Ling 3

A close up on the details of my white shortalls.

For a safer and easier look:

I would go for a much simpler look by wearing a creme sweater, black-leather motorcycle jacket, jeans, and booties. If you were to glam this up, you could replace the jeans with faux leather leggings and wear some dangly necklaces.

What Should I Eat Before?

To get me in the mood for this, I definitely had to eat something healthy. I went for a salad because it’s light, but at the same time filling. This is because the Fillmore is general admission, which means standing for the WHOLE NIGHT. That’s why I didn’t want to eat something super heavy like Mexican food, because although it is one of my all time favorite foods, I make multiple stops to the bathroom from consuming too much (too much information?). Low on money once again, I had to make my own salad, but that just means I get to choose whatever goes into it! If you were to go out and get an actual salad, however, I would recommend going to Pluto’s, which is located on Irving and has some delicious choices for salads.

Who Should I Go With?

Remember how I said you should always go with a friend? Sometimes… you can break that rule, especially if you’re like me and you just can’t find friends (it’s true guys). I went to this concert by myself mainly because nobody wanted to join me on a school night. But rest assured, going by yourself is never a bad thing because that means you can make new friends and that you don’t have to worry about making sure your friend has a great time. All of your energy can just be focused on the band! (Though I will say once more that with a friend, you feed off one another’s energy!) For this type of concert, I would recommend going with someone who’s willing to stand for long periods of time without complaining, even if you can tell they have lost all feeling in both legs, that just means they are down for anything and willing to stick by your side. This is not one of those super hardcore-rock concerts with moshpits and what not, so someone who can sway to the music and do some subtle rock moves and gentle head nodding is the person to bring.

THE CONCERT

First off I want to say how much I love the Fillmore. It’s just such a great venue, the workers are all very nice, and they are (for the most part) extremely punctual.

The first band up was:

DALE EARNHARDT JR. JR.

I’m going to be totally honest here, I have never heard a song from them, BUT it’s all good because they were a really cool opening band. They played a short set, but within that time I really got a sense of their sound, and I did enjoy it! Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jr. is definitely a quality indie pop-rock band, with a good mix of electronic beats and instrumentals. They’re a band I would listen to for some chillaxing homework vibes, but not necessarily to get the party started. Then again, I should probably listen to more of their music before I go ahead and make that assumption.

Dale 1

Just look at his hair!! How fabulous. He’s like Jesus.

FAMILY OF THE YEAR

Family of the Year 1

Family of the Year is such a quality band. Their music is so great for a day out on the beach with your friends, just tanning in the sun. Either that or if you’re sipping on a cup of black tea, on one of those swinging chairs on the porch, pondering life. Live, they are also fantastic. The sound was all very on-point, and their music is very “clean.” I don’t mean clean like bible-study-music-while-you-bathe-in-holy-water clean, I’m talking about it being very easy to hear the voices and what instruments are being played. THE BEST PART OF THE WHOLE SET? The drummer. I literally could not take my eyes off of him because he was the cutest thing in the whole entire world. He was just pounding away on his drums with the biggest smile on his face. I feel like he was actually possessed by a music fairy and had rainbows surging through his bloodstream. It was pure awesomeness.

Fam yr 2

Favorites:

St. Croix- One of their more upbeat songs that really reminds me of the beach. It’s one of those earworms, that gets stuck in your head and then at the end of the day, you just find yourself repeating the chorus “You bring the ocean, I’ll bring the motion/ Together we’ll make a love potion.”

In the End- Is it possible for music to sound cute? I don’t know…The beginning “ding ding…ding ding” (in other words, the melody) to me is so cute. It makes me feel like a little kid playing with a xylophone—a very happy tune that gets me in a happy mood.

Hero- I just love this song because it sounds a little sad, but at the same time it’s very calming.

The Stairs -This song makes me feel all sorts of feels. It really builds from the beginning and gets all intense when the electric guitar hits. Plus I think it’s bad@$$ whenever bands curse in their songs but still make it sound classy, know what I mean?

ATLAS GENIUS

Atlas Genius 1

What can I say? This band is just totally underrated! I was originally interested in the concert just because of Family of the Year, but I really fell in love with Atlas Genius. First off, I’d like to talk about how this band is from Australia…ladies you know what this means right? Cute boys with even cuter accents? Yes, my heart melted. Keith, the lead singer, has so much charisma and charm. I mean he’s not exactly my cup of tea, but once I heard him talk in his regular voice he just became 382095794375398475982375-times hotter. I swear… foreign boys. The boys really utilized the whole stage, mostly Keith because he was just all over the place. At one point, he jumped down into the audience where I had to contain myself and not sexually harass him (is that too much information again?).

WITNESS THE MOMENT:

lasst onne

so close yet…SO FAR AWAY.

Atlas Genius 4

Favorites of the night:

If So – This song really reminds me of Two Door Cinema Club’s “This is the Life”, which is just such a carefree and feel-good song. It’s impossible to NOT dance to this track. I absolutely love it!

Electric – When you first hear the intro to this song, you don’t know what to expect, and when the beat drops your mind is just blown. It’s a great blend of futuristic beats that makes me feel like I am floating through space while jamming out on an electric guitar.

Back Seat – I have found that Atlas Genius is like a mix of Two Door Cinema Club and Arctic Monkeys, but their mix of music is so refreshing and edgy at the same time. This track was one of my favorites because every time Keith sang into the mic “oooooh” I was all “ooooooooh,” melting into a puddle of love.

Trojans – What can I say, I am a sucker for those big hits. This is probably their biggest hit, and a really quality track. It’s catchy and very alternative. I don’t see why this isn’t a bigger hit on the radio?! I am a little angry to say this but I think this was the only song the audience actually knew or truly sang along to. (You will read a lot more about that in the following section.) The whole band had great chemistry and the energy for this last song was fantastic. A great song to close out a great night.

Atlas Genius 2

At the end of the show, Keith was throwing out picks to those in the crowd, and then he spotted me *swoon*, and was trying to hand me a pick. As he reached for my hand, he realized that due to my height disadvantage, he would be unable to hand me the pick. SO THEN he jumped off stage to give it to me! So many girls started reaching their hands out, but he said “I’m trying to give it to her!” and I said “ME?!?!?!” and he was all “YAAAAAAAAAAAAAS!”. He grabbed my hand and I almost fainted, but then some girl—this evil GRINCH WHO PROBABLY STOLE CHRISTMAS—ALSO STOLE MY PICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So. much. anger.
It’s okay though, it’s the thought that counts right?

one mo

The only complaint?

The crowd. Oh my goodness. They were so boring!!!!! That sounds harsh, but it’s kind of true. This band is so underrated, but I would have expected that these people who attended the show were totally hardcore fans! Boy, was I wrong. Everyone was just swaying and not really singing along. Though, there was one fan who was a little out of her mind, which brings me to some big DON’TS…

-Don’t clap to a song when nobody else is clapping, especially if you are not able to clap on beat
-Don’t scream WHOOOOOOO while the artist is talking. Girl, I don’t want to hear your voice, I want to hear this hot foreign guy’s voice!
-Don’t smack the people on the sides while you are dancing
-Don’t try to give me a baby toy just because I look 12-years-old. I will cut you.
-Don’t be rude. I will cut you.
-Don’t steal a person’s concert souvenir, especially if it was not meant for you.

But no matter what, through the tough crowd and that one rowdy girl (she was just doing the most), the bands really rocked the house!

Until next time kids,
ROCK ON!

Words and images by Yu Ling Wu

Leave a Reply

