I Shutter When I See You: Political “Mime”

Political Mime

“I had my acting debut with the San Francisco Mime Troupe. They dressed me up as a cop and I gave the final blow that killed the main character. There were thousands of people in Delores Park and you could hear a pin drop.”

In front of the Glen Park Branch of the San Francisco Public Library

You know those “beach bums?” Those people who live as close as possible to Ocean Beach and spend their every waking, non-working moment in the waves? The best way I can describe this man is as an activism-bum. I say that in the most respectful way. He was so enthusiastic about what he was doing and he clearly knew everything he was talking about forward and backward. As he was working for Greenpeace when I shot him, our conversation was primarily about the fishing crisis but led naturally to his work with the San Francisco Mime Troupe (America’s Theater of Political Comedy). He was truly passionate and had some great stories to tell and information to give.

A self-portrait inspired by this stranger coming soon!

Portrait and words by Miranda Hollingswood

One thought on “I Shutter When I See You: Political “Mime”

Leave a Reply

