Desserted (Adventures in Food Edition): Plow

IMG_0923

Brunch. My favorite meal of the day. What is brunch you ask? Well, the word “brunch” is a combination of breakfast and lunch. It is usually eaten when it’s too late for breakfast but also too early for lunch—or it can just be an excuse for me to eat an extra meal. Isn’t that awesome possum?

Brunch has become a huge deal lately. With so many local places to choose from, many of us are on a hunt to track down the most Instagram-worthy brunch restaurant. With that in mind, my friend recently told me about Plow and their great food, so I decided to give it a try. Once I discovered their brunch menu, I screamed for joy and planned to go there the next day with my good friend Jessica, and so we did…

IMG_0925

First Impressions:
The restaurant was fairly small but also easy-going and rustic. Although the place was really crowded, it was not hectic or loud in and instead offered a relaxed and cozy ambiance.

The Eats:
When the menu was presented to me, my eyes immediately turned to the french toast. Plow offered a french toast with caramelized bananas, mascarpone, and maple syrup. When my beautiful plate finally came, I dove in.

IMG_0927

The bananas and mascarpone cream were perfect, but to my surprise, my beautiful french toast itself did not taste very great. It was a bit too doughy for my taste, and was definitely not the best french toast I’ve eaten. If the french toast were less soft, I would’ve loved it so much more because the bananas and mascarpone cream complimented it beautifully. In the end, it was not worth the price ($10).

IMG_0930

My friend, on the other hand, ordered a dish called The Plow which consisted of eggs, bacon, two lemon ricotta pancakes, and potatoes. Let me start out by saying this: the potatoes were AMAZING. Crispy, warm, and perfectly seasoned. I still dream about them at night. And the bacon. Can’t forget about the bacon, it was delicious. The pancakes, which had a hint of lemon flavor, tasted really good as well, but like the french toast, were too soft for our liking. While the dish itself was quite pricey ($16), it is worth trying.

When all was eaten and done:
Would I come back to Plow? I would, but not for their brunch. I have heard really good things about their lunch dishes and I really want to come back to try them. Hopefully, this restaurant will impress me more next time. I also really want to go back to visit my babies (aka the potatoes). 🙂

Have you been to Plow? What are your opinions on their food? Let me know!

Words and images by Maggie Ma

One thought on “Desserted (Adventures in Food Edition): Plow

Leave a Reply

