I Shutter When I See You: Mute Stare

splitt

Split soul

Inspired by an activist in a yellow and red beanie.

A meeting can tell you a lot about a person. My meeting with this man brought me contrast. He jumped swiftly between his business and his personal life; back and forth. His seemingly homemade beanie was the color of the blood and violence his mime troupe cast him in and the happy yellow that I saw in him.

This self-portrait was difficult to complete as I saw so many different things when I thought about the image I had captured and the words he had said to me. So, in order to try to capture that, I found a split shadow and kept the literal aspects I kept seeing: the door behind him and the beanie.

Photography and words by Miranda Hollingswood

Leave a Reply

