Is This Loud Enough?: RuPaul’s Drag Race – Battle of the Seasons

Finale

This post is dedicated to all my fabulous homosexuals.

 Gentlemen…start your engines…and may the best woman…WIN!

Are you a fan of RuPaul’s Drag Race? Well honey, I am! As I scrolled through my Bandsintown app on my brightly lit screen in the middle of the night, I quickly caught a glimpse of the name “RuPaul,” and instantly, my heart stopped.

To say that this was the raunchiest, most flamboyant, insane, and glitter-filled show of… ever (next to Gaga, of course) would be an understatement. Here’s how I made the best of that night.

What to wear:

Putting together a crazy outfit is no challenge for me. The real challenge is stirring up the courage to walk out the door in a rainbow fur coat and seven inch platform boots, because that kind of outfit doesn’t exactly go by unnoticed or unjudged. Luckily, dressed this way going to a drag show, I fit right in. In fact, that’s what I loved so much about attending this show: nobody was going to judge you for what you were wearing or who you were with, the crazier the better! We were just all there for a good time.

outfit

 

no jack

colorz

I opted for my rainbow fur coat (my friends refer to it as my parrot coat), a neon green sleeveless top, and my satin fuschia pink pencil skirt. I wanted to go for an outrageous rainbow-vomit-themed outfit so I could express my excitement and hopefully blind some pedestrians on the sidewalk.

Who to bring:

me x cam

 A friend who is familiar with the art of drag, and knows how to have fun!

THE BATTLE OF THE SEASONS:

ALASKA THUNDERF*CK:

Alaska opened the show with her hilarious song “Your Makeup is Terrible”, which had the crowd dying of laughter. She was so energetic and magnetic, she had the audience in the palm of her hand. I honestly could have just watched her sing to that song for the rest of the night and would have left satisfied. For her second round, she came back on with her own rendition of “All By Myself,” and I could not handle her singing (or more like weird guttural chirping sounds). I have no idea what she does with her voice, but whatever it is, it’s hilarious.


Alaska 1

Alaska 2

CARMEN:

One word: Caliente. Carmen hit the stage and did a lip-sync performance to Ciara’s “Body Party”. She was struttin’ her stuff, and was not shy about flashing that sex change because honey, she looked good.

carmen 1

PANDORA BOXX:

Pandora slayed me with her comedic act. From her Carol Channing impersonations to her songs about cooter, I just can’t get enough of her. My favorite line from her stand-up routine had to be: “Any straight men here? Oh no, honey I don’t believe that. You’re straight? What’s your name? Nick? Rhymes with dick!”

Pandora Boxx 1

Aside from her stand-up routine revolving mostly around phallic jokes, we did get to see some lip-syncing from Pandora as well. In her second appearance, she did a mash-up of several different songs, where she brought out her nerdy side, and played a dirty Hermione Granger (which had me in tears).

“Dirty Hermione Granger”:

MANILA LUZON:

I have to say, I was a little disappointed with Manila’s performances that night. Although she chose to perform to Gaga’s “Venus”, which earned her 500 bonus points, I felt like she was holding back a lot of her energy and not really appealing to the crowd. Her costume and makeup was totally on point though.

DETOX:

I absolutely loved Detox. She interacted with the crowd, and her neon-themed outfits fit her glowing personality. Plus I’m just naturally attracted to all things neon and bright, so that was a plus in my book. She really shined through in her second performance, where she splattered neon paint all over her body and jumped into the audience. All I have to say about Detox is “YAS, YAS, and YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAS”!

DETOX 1

 

Detox 2

IVY WINTERS:

Ivy Winters blew me away with her “Cirque-de-so-gay!” For me, she actually stole the show with her dramatic and beautiful performances. I already knew that Ivy had some wicked talents—like juggling and stilt walking—so I was excited to see how she would incorporate all of that. For her first appearance, she came out on stilts in a shimmering black and silver cloak. Singing along to Little Mix’s “Wings,” she transformed into a drag butterfly and I almost died from the sheer beauty of it all. It was inspiring, glamorous, and fun all at the same time. Her second appearance she sang to Titanium, and once again delivered a wonderful performance.

Ivy 1

Ivy 2

SHARON NEEDLES:

Sharon Needles is known for her dark aesthetics, so I would expect nothing less than her busting out of a coffin and wowing the crowd. In her first appearance she mixed her signature dark style with humor and sang her “Call Me on the Ouija Board.” Her second appearance she wore a really creepy mask, and delivered a haunting performance.

Needles 2

WILLAM & DETOX:

Willam and Detox collaborated to deliver some of the funniest moments of the night! They sang “This Boy Is A Bottom”, which is a fairly self-explanatory song. They also sang “Chow Down (at Chick-fil-A)”, which was especially hilarious since Chick-fil-A is completely anti-gay. I could barely keep myself from falling to the ground because it was so funny.

“This Boy Is A Bottom”:

“Chow Down (at Chick-fil-A)”:


Overall, this night was completely packed with fun, fierceness, and glitter. The crowd was so supportive and sweet (shout out to everyone who let me stand in front of them, the struggle is so real when you’re so short), the queens brought their energy, and it made for a great night of memories. If RuPaul’s Drag Race: Battle of the Seasons hits your town, you better snatch a ticket, or I will snatch your weave!

detox self

“If you don’t love yourself, how the hell you gonna love anybody else? Can I get an amen?”

Leave a Reply

