Young Threads: Young Soul Six

melissa1
Melissa Lee

“Stay Cute”

Hat : Work

Jacket : Thrifted

Top : Thrifted

Belt : Forever 21

Skirt : Target

Socks : Dollar Store

Shoes : Converse

melissa2melissa3

Describe your style!
I would say it’s pretty eclectic. I love mixing and matching different styles that don’t really go together. Sometimes I like to look like a punk grandma and sometimes a preppy bad gal. My style is also like a mood ring — depending how I feel that day, I can be really dressed up or bummed-out in sweats.

Why did you choose this outfit?
It was finally going to be a nice day, so I decided to wear my favorite denim skirt but. Since it was still windy, I put on some thigh highs to add lightweight warmth. The macaroon shirt and skirt looked too sweet and girly, so I added my cap, printed bomber jacket, and Converse to toughen up my outfit. I wanted to give it a more urban and laid-back look.

Where do you usually shop?
I like a good bargain (a euphemism for the fact  that I am just really cheap) so I mostly shop at thrift stores and consignment shops like Goodwill, Thrift Town, or Crossroads. When I’m not too cheap, I like hitting up Forever 21, H&M, Urban Outfitters, CottonOn, and Pacsun.

What are your fashion inspirations?
I love watching fashion vloggers and bloggers on YouTube and blogs with very quirky styles like Jenn Im or Karen O. I also get inspiration from other people’s outfits especially on the streets of SF.

Bonnie’s Thoughts:
I am in love with Melissa’s bomber jacket!!!!! Like her, I also really like thrifting! Thrift stores and consignment shops are the best places to find one-of-a-kind pieces. I love Jenn Im and Karen O. too, and I also think that Youtube is a great place to find fashion inspiration.

Words and pictures by Bonnie Yuen

 

One thought on “Young Threads: Young Soul Six

Leave a Reply

