Young Threads: Young Soul Eight

serena1
Serena Ng
“Life is too short to wear boring clothes.”

Top: Vintage

Necklace: Forever 21

Dress: Vintage

Tights: TJ Maxx

Shoes: Doc Martens

serena2serena33

Describe your style!

My style is pretty much anything on sale. I am extremely cheap and pretty much anything that has “sale” on it catches my eye.  I also like going with the vintage old-school look most of the time. I love different textures and mixing them up together, but it really depends—some days I’m feeling creative and some days I just throw whatever on!

Why did you choose this outfit?

I choose this outfit for a couple reasons: One, because this bipolar SF weather is so unpredictable and I wasn’t sure what would happen. Second, I wanted a spring look with back-in-the-day feel, and with a little grunge too. Lastly, I did not dress up this week yet and I like to dress up at least once a week. I believe that when you dress good, you feel good.

Where do you usually shop?

I don’t really have a main go-to store. I usually hop around to wherever. I like to go to thrift stores a lot and upstairs to my mom’s closet! Haha! I also like to hit up the usual stores such as Forever 21, H&M, Urban Outfitters, Cotton On, etc.

What are your fashion inspirations?

I usually get my fashion inspiration from the streets and all the emails I get from the stores I signed up for (fashion newsletters). A lot of my inspiration is just from browsing Instagram, and also from the characters in the numerous TV shows that I watch! I mean have you seen Carrie Bradshaw’s closet?!

Bonnie’s Thoughts:

I must admit that the SF bipolar weather has really affected the way I dress too. In SF, it’s best that you wear layers in case of a change in weather. I personally like the hot weather better, but don’t get me wrong, I love San Francisco—fog and all. It is a great place to thrift as there are thrift stores in all parts of the city. I think that the cost is also a big factor for me as well, considering that we are broke high school students with no jobs (the majority of us at least). Vintage pieces are the bomb.com because no one else will have the same pieces!

Words and Images by Bonnie Yuen

Leave a Reply

