Touch Screen to Begin: Soul Guardians – Age of Midgard

5

Soul Guardians: Age of Midgard is a free-to-play side-scrolling fighting game by ZQGame Inc. I usually don’t play these types of games because of the amount of battery life they require, but I decided to step outside my comfort zone and try something different this time around. For the short time I’ve played this game, it’s been pretty fun. You can play with other people on your server, which can make for an interesting and unique experience with friends. If anything, this is a fantastic game for heating your phone up on a cold day.

When you start Soul Guardians, you get to choose between picking a ranger and warrior class. There are a total of eight classes in the game, but some of them require in-game currency to unlock. Besides the classes, I don’t like the way Soul Guardians controls work. With these type of side-scrolling fighting games, moving around and attacking can be a pain. But that doesn’t make it impossible to play, it just isn’t to my taste.

1

Now that the negatives are out of the way, Soul Guardians does have some very fun aspects to it. Each class has four skills, and over time, you fill a gauge for your special skill. The cool thing about this game is that you can customize your special skill. In dungeons, you can pick up cards that you can insert into your special skill. These cards give your special skills a whole new effect, and you can stack them in any order you want. I think that’s really creative, and it’s definitely fun to play around with.

2

Overall, Soul Guardians was a really fun game. If only it didn’t melt my phone into liquid, I’d probably play it way more! It has a ton of in-app purchases, but I think it would still be fun, even if you decide not to shell out any money. Most of the ‘cons’ I listed were based on my personal opinion, so you shouldn’t let those bother you. If you want to try this game, you can download it at the Play Store or the App Store. Let me know what you think!

Words by Chen Yu, Pictures from App Store

Leave a Reply

