Soul Searchin’: Valerie

For my second post, I covered “Valerie” by Amy Winehouse. This song hits close to home for a couple reasons; I’ve always liked the song, and I sang it for my school’s winter concert last year with my friend. Performing as a duo and getting such a positive reaction from the audience gave the song a really special place in my heart. 

What most people don’t know is that “Valerie” was originally written by an English band, ‘The Zutons.’ Amy Winehouse’s cover was produced by Mark Ronson and ended up on his album, Version. Just like Etta James’ ‘At Last,’ ‘Valerie’ is a cover. I think it’s funny that both of the songs I have sung so far are covers of covers.

Amy Winehouse’s soulful style and strong personality makes her an inspiration to me as a singer. In a pop-dominated culture, she was able to pursue her passion for soul music while topping charts and staying true to herself. If I ever get my big break in the music industry, I hope to have the same confidence and tenacity that she maintained throughout her career. When you listen to my cover, I hope you enjoy and remember Amy Winehouse’s legacy.

Leave a Reply

