Achancetodance: Don’t by Ed Sheeran

Welcome back! 👋≧◉ᴥ◉≦

Do you want to see a video of me dancing? Click the link below.

http://on.fb.me/1DV9vkl

First of all, I would like to give a big shoutout to Dexandro Montalvo for allowing me to post these videos of me dancing to his fantastic hip-hop choreography.

Dexandro Montalvo’s Advanced-Beginner hip-hop class consists of an intense core workout, technique alignment, stretching, and advance choreography to popular radio music. Because this is an Advanced-Beginner hip-hop class, the movements are pretty demanding, but thankfully, they are reviewed multiple times.

D’s choreography is my favorite. His style of choreography has a mixture of sensual and dynamic motions that precisely flow into the next. I really enjoy this dance because it’s chill and swaggy. The pace is slower and groovier than that of his other choreographed work, allowing me to breathe. Usually, I forget to do so because I am too focused on hitting all the moves and my face tends to get bright red. But this time, I didn’t almost die. “:♡.•♬✧⁽⁽ଘ( ˊᵕˋ )ଓ⁾⁾*+:•*∴

There were still some difficulties I had to overcome. One of them was filming this video. First, Mady tried filming me on the beach, which did not work because the sand kept making me slide around. Then, we went to a courtyard and the setting worked out successfully.

 Near the end of the video, I did the correct set of movement but at the wrong time. The movement and rhythm of the music is somewhat similar to the next part of music but the beats in the rhythm are much slower and more pronounced so I mixed up the movements. Unfortunately, Mady and I were pressed for time, so we had to roll with this take.

 The experience from learning the dance and filming it in different settings was fun and experimental. Now we know not to film hip-hop dances at the beach! I wish there was enough time to film the entire and correct choreographed piece, but it was getting dark and we had to go. Kind of like how I have to go right now.

 Enjoy and PEACE OUT!

Text and Dance Performance by Karen Lee

Video by Mady Hewett

Leave a Reply

