f-Art with Alana: Last Post

This week, instead of posting about other people’s food and art, I decided to focus on my own. In the spirit of aiming high, I chose to make pot de créme, a French dessert custard, that usually flavors in vanilla and chocolate! I’ve always enjoyed pot de créme, but have never attempted to make it before so I decided to give it a shot.

After searching for different recipes, I realized it was much simpler than I had imagined it to be. Five basic ingredients (semisweet chocolate, whole milk, heavy cream, egg yolks, and sugar) create a delicious, rich dessert. Although only five ingredients are necessary, the process is very precise. Baking is a very precise art to begin with, but for pot de crémes timing is everything.

Overall, they turned out to be delicious and we ate them that night for dessert. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who isn’t familiar with baking because it is fairly simple to make and does not require the use of an oven.

DSC_1142

As for the art portion of this post, I recorded my rendition of ‘Girls’ by The 1975 at the studio. I’ve never really recorded anything before so tracking in the studio for the first time was awesome. I really liked how serene it was in the booth and all the equiptment made it seem much more professional than if I were to record it on my phone at home. Not wanting to use a pre-recorded instrumental, I had Samantha come in to play her beautiful twelve-string guitar for me.

Sam and I have sung and played together many times in the past, but this was our first time doing this particular song. Only running it 3-4 times before going to the studio, it was inevitable that we would have mistakes. We did about 5 run-throughs before choosing the final recording.

This was a really fun experience and I hope to continue to create desserts and music in the future (two of my favorite things). Enjoy them both!

Guitar by Samantha Fong.

Words, Images, and Vocals by Alana Poole.

Leave a Reply

