Winners, Losers, and Survivors: A Crime Blog [Animafia]

Screen shot 2015-01-26 at 4.19.51 PM

I’m back and I’ve completed my film, Animafia. It didn’t turn out how I expected, but people seemed to like it. It’s much more sexual than I had originally intended, and is completely different from Richard Stark’s crime classic, The Hunter. Animafia is more of a horror movie than a crime film, but it still takes a commonly used crime story archetype and does something different with it.

Screen shot 2015-01-26 at 4.29.39 PM

The part of the film I’m most proud of is the end credit sequence. It’s mega-insane and comes straight out of the 80’s. I spent two weeks editing together this end credit sequence. I had to find the right music (I used two songs from the To Live and Die in LA soundtrack), and made sure the images flashed together to the rhythm of the song; which was a pain because rendering these images on Final Cut takes thirty minutes. Check out the film on the link below, but be warned, its weird and the best part of it is the end!

Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6vqB8zBVxTA

Coming up in February: I love blaxploitation films, especially their sweet, groovy 70s funk and soul soundtracks. I might actually like the soundtracks more than the films. I’m going to take a look at three of the most well known blaxploitation films with the most memorable soundtracks. I’ll then decide if  I like the music better, or if the film holds up, and utilizes its soundtrack effectively. The first film will be Shaft, one of the earliest and most popular blaxploitation films, and its amazing score by smooth talking scientologist, Isaac Hayes.

Written by Tyler Ducheneaux

Images by Tyler Ducheneaux

Leave a Reply

