News Hungry: A Birthday Cake to Celebrate

Screen shot 2015-02-19 at 2.06.40 PM

Welcome to the unknown world, hidden by a censored society where the media feeds us lies and propaganda. But no worries, I’ll inform you about what goes on behind the scenes of our everyday lives. Hi! My name is Sammi and you could say that I’m a very curious person. I was born in Guangzhou, China, but moved to San Francisco, California when I was 3 years old. Growing up, my parents always used stories that were on the news to teach me about different values and morals in life. Their addiction to watching the news got instilled into me.

As a result, I’ve been more involved and interested in the world. I’ve started small by volunteering in my community by working at food bank,  botanical gardens,  SF AIDS Walk and Nike Women’s marathon. By the time I was a junior in high school, I discovered that social issues were not only topics of my interest, but also my passion. At that time I was in an awesome organization called “Youth Mojo” that focused on issues of identity, socio-economic justice, and current events. This sparked my interest in searching for important stories that the media avoids. In this column I’m going to convert that passion into communication. You can count on me to drill into the depths of the undisclosed and share my findings and my thoughts with you.

The Birthday Cake metaphor signifies the birth and celebration of my first post hence the Number 1 candle and the cake. I’m looking forward to writing about feminism, prison vs schools, and the terrorist group ISIS.

Words by Sammi Tsui. Images by PrissyDivaBoutique on Etsy.

Leave a Reply

