Sketchy Pencil Point: Introduction

IMG_1376

Hello everyone! Introductions aren’t my specialty, but I’ll do my best. My name is Stephan and welcome to my column “Sketchy Pencil Point.” When I say sketchy, I mean artsy sketchy, not dubious sketchy. I love drawing and doodling, so if you haven’t already guessed, I will be posting my latest illustrations on a regular basis. 

How should I put this? Over ninety percent of the things I draw are mindless doodles. No meaning, simply filling up paper with Sharpies, colors, pens, pencils and whatever I feel like dumping onto the paper. Most of these drawings don’t have much thought behind them. Some are random practice doodles to try out some new interesting techniques that I’m attempting to imitate.

However, once in a while, I put some thought into what I draw and keep track of the ideas that inform what I’m doing. Sometimes, for the school newspaper. Other times, for assignments. In my column, I’m going to share some of these illustrations and the thoughts, inspirations and stories behind these images. In addition to my thought process, I will try to share some of the insight into the process and some of the techniques behind my illustration. As for whether the final product conveys what I wanted it to say, that’s up for you guys to decide! I would love to hear from you.

IMG_1389

This one right here is just something to start us off with! This is somewhat of a self portrait, with me measuring my surroundings using the point of my pencil. A sharp, sparkling pencil point and my somewhat tired, somewhat sleepy and definitely somewhat…focused eyes. I wanted to keep everything simple, so I just portrayed my “surroundings” as the world, flowing and drifting in and out of my mind. And….this brings me all the way back to the title for my column – Sketchy Pencil Point; seeing the world through art from my perspective.

What do you see? Everything is done with Sharpies, of course. I just love ‘em.

Illustrations and text by Stephan Xie. Photographs by Justine and Stephan Xie

Leave a Reply

