Popcorn Politics: Introduction

madoka-magica-main-cast

Hi, I’m Tiffany and my column will be focused on anime! At the first mention of “anime” or “manga,” some may back away from the sound of such a potentially alienating subject. However, these Japanese cartoons offer more than what is available to the eye at first glance. In anime, there are many connections to be drawn between fiction and reality. Anime is a force that can entertain and evoke. 

It also offers insight on a myriad of issues from an often-overlooked perspective, packaged into the form of pink, lace-clad magical girls on a screen. Madoka Magica is not to be underestimated; it will lure you in with their kawaiiness and then drag you into inescapable dark tunnels of feels. Many dismiss these cartoons as childish or a waste of time, but in truth, they are similar to any framed piece you would find in a museum. They have become timeless works of art that reveal some striking tales. In my column, I will be exploring anime and the socio-political commentary embedded within the multiple layers of these Japanese ‘toons. I may also include my own drawings that go along with the specific anime I discuss on my blog. Enjoy!

Words by Tiffany Yu

Image from Madoka Magica, http://aflrm.com/

2 thoughts on “Popcorn Politics: Introduction

  1. Yes! Anime is amazing! I agree with this article completely.
    And… Puella Shoujo Madoka Magica is one of my favorites…

Leave a Reply

