Monovlogs: Funny Face Off

23

Hey guys! So, I’ve been wanting to do this challenge for a while, and now I finally get to! it’s called the Funny Face Off; first introduced on Jimmy Kimmel Live. Basically, the challenge is to imitate the facial expressions of people, animals, or cartoons. It’s surprisingly difficult to find unorthodox expressons on the internet that you I am inspired to imitate. When taking the imitation photos, I experienced new pains on my face that no human being should ever experience. Did you know that your cheeks can cramp up? Because I sure didn’t. This is a true art form, to say the least. Making an ugly face is one thing, but trying to imitate one is actually pretty difficult. I tried to find some recognizable faces so this post would be a bit more enjoyable.

As I said, it was pretty difficult to find the faces on the internet – when searching up “ugly faces,” “strange faces” or “funny faces” on google, cartoons and emotions that are nearly impossible to imitate would come up. I spent a good hour just to find five faces that I would be able to imitate without completely failing. (Big shout out to the fad of pretty girls making ugly faces on tumblr! You all made my job so much easier. Also, special thanks to Kim K for being Kim K.)

Anyway, I really hope that you enjoy scrolling through this post as much as I enjoyed making it! I believe that this challenge led to a sense of discovery for myself, and what my face can, and cannot do. Now, I believe that it is time for me to embarrass myself on the internet. Here goes nothing:

1Screen shot 2015-02-26 at 5.50.22 PMScreen shot 2015-02-26 at 5.51.36 PM10312514813711215161718192526
Thanks for being a part of this experience!! Now that I have completed my task of using the internet to ruin my life, I leave the rest to you. Feel free to try this challenge out. You’d be amazed of the wonders that you can create with your face. See you all soon 🙂

Words and images by Jaimie Leung.

Original images, courtesy of the Associated Press.

Leave a Reply

