Long Story Short: New Segment

natnatheader

Looking through my column, I noticed that all of the books I’ve talked about so far are ones that I had recently read and then wrote about. And I’ll keep it like that, but I want to try something different; think of it as a new segment. I’ll post about a bunch of books I have read with a short summary about each one. Hopefully, because these are books I’ve already read, it will make this column of mine more consistent, and you won’t have to wait around for me to finish a brand new book.I think I’ll call this segment (drum roll please) “Keep to MyShelf.” Get it? Because the books I will be talking about are the ones that I have kept on my shelf. (At least my dad thinks I’m funny.) For this new segment, there will also be a theme for each post, but I guess you’ll figure that out as we go.

I know that I said this segment was going to be about books I have already read, but for this first post, I’ll give you an idea about what my summer reading list  looks like. I can’t give you a summary of the books, but I can give you a summary of what has drawn me to them.

nathalie_summerreading

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

What drew me to this book were the endless recommendations that I’d see for it in my local book stores. I saw it in the library and thought, “Well this is perfect timing.” I’ve read quite a bit of it already and wouldn’t be surprised if I finished it by the end of the week. Look forward to an in depth recommendation/review. But so far the book is a fantasy and it’s magical. The story is a about this circus. Only open at night, Le Cirque des Rêves captures the hearts of all it’s patrons. The story is told from different points in time, and conveyed through different narrators, all of them connected to the circus and with each other.

What Every BODY is Saying by Joe Navarro

I think many of us doubt what we are capable of and we tend to get stuck dreading over our worst moments. Every faulty thing that I’ve done is a potential landmine full of embarrassment exploding inside of me. It’s not that I’m not confident in my abilities, it’s showing them, having others acknowledge them, and all in all becoming a more assertive individual, is what I’m hoping to learn. This book is a step by step guide to reading body language: tips and tricks to understand a person through their physical quirks.

The Bible

Summer Reading for my English class next year.

Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

Summer Reading for my English class next year.

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

This one has been on my book list since last year and I’ve finally gotten around to getting the book. Now it is resting on my nightstand, waiting for my to devour it (MWAHAHAHA)!

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

My junior year English teacher noticed my deep love for magical realism, and one day brought out her collection of books for me to look through. She mentioned how Marquez was the father of magical realism and so I took this book with great care and respect, so I really hope that I can finish this book as well as all of the others by the time summer is over.

Wish me luck you guys!

Love, Nathalie.
(images taken from Google)

Leave a Reply

